This division is managed by a Deputy Secretary reporting to the Secretary. This division manages a host of other sections and Offices.
The following sections and Offices operate under this division: 
1. Gender, Development and Human Rights
2. Community Learning, Environment and Informal Economy. 
3. Religion Disability and Elderly 
4. Office for the Development of Women (ODW)
Community Development Functions
The Department coordinates and delivers Community Development Programs aimed at mobilising local communities to work in unity towards strengthening family units and improving the lives of all our people through partnership and collaboration with Provincial, District and Local Level Government Administrations, development partners, Non-Government Organisations (NGOs), Civil Society Organisations (CSO’s) and Community Based Organisations (CBOs) targeting specific social issues of concern.
Mandated Functions
The mandated functions of the Department include the implementation of the Civil Identity and Registration Act (2014) and the Lukautim Pikinini Act (2015).
  • The Office of Civil Registration and NID implement the registration of civil status of all citizens including Births, Marriages and Deaths. The office is also the custodian of the War and Deaths Act and Newspapers and Printers Act

  • The Office of Children, and Family Welfare Services implement the Lukautim Pikinini Act (2015) and the articles of Convention for the Rights of Children (CRC) which provides protection for the mothers and their children from all forms of violence, abuse and neglect in PNG.